Let’s increase productivity!

6 May

I have been a victim of procrastination and always delaying a task or a job until the last minute. This is a habit of mine and I have been searching a better way to increase my productivity, towards work and towards anything that involving my life. I am fed up with the life I am having right now and I have made up my mind that this is the end of it! I was doing some research that needed for my coding to work and I saw something really interesting and I just started using the technique like right now. It is called ‘The Pomodoro Technique’.

What is Pomodoro Technique?

This technique is created by a man named Francesco Cirillo in 1992. This technique have been used by large enterprises all over the world, such as Google, IBM, etc. It is a time management technique that using sessions and breaks to increase productivity and decrease interruptions. You can check out the technique at Pomodoro Website.

What do I need to start?

You’ll only need 3 things :

  1. A kitchen timer
  2. A sheet of paper
  3. A pencil (with eraser)

How can I start?

Here’s the step in Pomodoro Technique :

  1. Choose a task
  2. Write it down on the piece of paper
  3. Set the timer to 25 minutes
  4. Work on the task until the timer rings,
  5. Take a short break (5 minutes is okay)
  6. Every 4 timers, take a longer break (7-15 minutes)

What is its benefits?

Actually I’m under a Pomodoro right now and it seems that I have been working on this entry and have been focused on it ever since I started it. I haven’t yet use the technique for a longer task yet, but right now I’m working faster and much more focused than before. Of course you can check out other benefits via the website.

Goodies

Here’s some links of interesting readings, applications and goodies that related to Pomodoro Technique :

  1. Focus Booster – a desktop timer that using Pomodoro Technique. In fact, I am using it right now.
  2. Pomodoro Technique Wikipedia
  3. Pomodoro’s Twitter
  4. Pomodoro Technique Resources

Conclusion

I think I wanna give this technique a try and will use it for one whole week or month. And I will review my findings doing this technique later.

Are you a Pomodoro Technique user already? Comment here and share your experience.

Leave a Reply

